Achievements

“My, aren’t you a prolific publisher,” says WordPress. You know, those buttons in the Trophy Case on the Reader home screen. Write about your achievements, it says.

As I’ve stated before, I had no goal towards having anyone read my words. I only wanted to write. I’m not a writer; I can’t even claim the title of wannabe writer. Well written is a goal to work towards but for now, it’s only to write the stories down with the best knowledge I have as I increase my learning by letting fellow bloggers help by allowing me to read their words.

The achievements weren’t necessary, or so I thought. I did a Daily Prompt post today as my very first challenge. It was short and I didn’t think it was very good. I did it anyway because I needed to learn more about writing, using someone else’s idea and as a chance to learn more of WordPress’ features.

There were 171 views last night. I published the Daily Post blog this morning. At the end of the day, right now, I have 19 followers, 200 hits and 7 pingbacks. I don’t know the real purpose of the achievement buttons are for but for me, I believe it’s WordPress’ way of giving a blogger a little boost of esteem. Not pride, just a pat on the back for doing something well, or maybe just doing something.

The numbers really don’t matter but the personal feeling of achievement and accomplishment that comes from getting these little achievement buttons make me want to push myself just a little bit farther, make it a little bit better. So, regardless of the numbers, the buttons are a nice touch.

The thing that truly amazes me, even more than the buttons for esteem is on the Site Stats page – the map that shows which countries people are reading your blog from. Basically, around the world. That is an achievement to me. And I return the favor – I can read anything from anybody from anywhere.

The greatest achievement of all, however, is looking forward to reading and writing every single day.

4 thoughts on “Achievements

  1. I love seeing the world through the eyes of others. I follow a lot of photographers because of this. I have learned more about other countries since joining wordpress than I ever learned from the news.

Leave a Reply

