Words With Meaning

Quotes – A small amount of words that take on a big meaning.

Often dependent on a person’s mood, receptiveness, willingness and personality, quotes may make one realize that, ‘hey, there’s someone else like me out there.” Of course, being everyone is different, what motivates and inspires me might not be what motivates and inspires you. What’s so important with those words is the realization that no, we are not all alike and that’s okay.

Social networking has become a wonderful took for sharing good quotes or words that mean something to you or someone else. Just a click or two and you have the quote along with (I hope) the original author. Social networking put to good use.

I’ve decided to share a few of my favorite quotes that have meant something to me through the years. This is, in no way, an all inclusive list as I find more and more words each day that means something to me and if I posted everything, this post would never end.

Before sharing, here’s a few things I “see” about myself (and I’m certain you will see me differently) so maybe I can portray what it is or why these particular quotes, phrases or Bible verses mean something to me. Again, this is simply my point of view.

I’ve always had the ‘traveler’ spirit, not that of a tourist. I love the forest and wide open spaces, can’t get enough of it. I also love a big city but only because I know I won’t be staying. I try not to be judgmental but fail miserably at times. I refuse to gossip or argue but I love to listen or participate in an interesting discussion. “Just pay it forward” is said frequently. It takes more energy to hate than to love. Besides, you’ll feel better when you love. I have occasional ‘depressed’ days but most days are on an even keel. And I love winter, the colder the better, and dislike the hot and humid heat of summer. Just a few things…….. and feel free to agree or disagree.

Without further ado, here are a few of my favorite quotes…

~ “Not all those who wander are lost.” ~ J R R Tolkien

I don’t know when or where I read or heard this but it’s stuck with me since then. Why? Because it’s true. Wandering off the path isn’t a bad thing; instead, it will give you a chance to ‘see’ things you wouldn’t see otherwise. But first, you have to make the choice to start wandering.

~ “Hope. Hope is the only thing stronger than fear.” ~ The Hunger Games

Simple. I saw the movie and heard this one. Being I was going through the most fearful time of my life, the thought of having hope even in the midst of fear made me decide to never lose hope. Now? I have hope every day and fear is slim to none.

~ “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better — it’s not.” ~ The Lorax

I watched this movie with my granddaughter of four months of age. She was interested in all the bright colors and I was interested in the incredible story. When the Lorax said this, I wrote it down so as not to ever forget it. Why? Because it’s true… we all have to depend on somebody at times in order to get things done to get things better. I’d say the Lorax was a pretty smart furbaby.

~ “If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got.” ~ Henry Ford

Heard this early one Sunday morning from a big church TV preacher. I immediately wrote it down and posted it on the frig. This made perfect sense to me; nothing would change if I didn’t make it change. However, at that particular time, life was acting like the beginning of the end with the health issues, being out of work so much, losing my pay and then losing my house due to sickness. I fought, I fought hard to do anything different to help me along until it didn’t work anymore. So now, I don’t do what I’ve always done so I’ll see what I’ll get.

~ “The mystery of human existence lies not in just staying alive, but in finding something to live for.” ~ Fyodor Dostoyevsky

We all have a life but are we really living it? Everybody has their own idea of what living life really is but whatever it is, live it to the fullest. You don’t ‘need’ a purpose to live life; all you need to do is the best you can be with what you like to do. We should put more life into living instead of purpose.

~ “Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.” ~ John Muir

Some of the truest words ever. Nature is a special place and has been for centuries. You don’t see many kids outside playing much anymore. Seems like everyone is walking around with their head stuck in their cell phones. Phone calls have turned into text messages that aren’t answered or replied to and people are too busy. Most people I know don’t know how to enjoy Mother Nature.

~ “Our prime purpose in this life is to help others. And if you can’t help them, at least don’t hurt them.” ~ Dalai Lama

Pretty self-explanatory. If all of us helped someone whenever we get a chance, think about how happy we could all be. You can also make it your mission not to hurt people, too.

~ “…In whatever state I am in, therewith will I be content.” ~ Phil 4:13

Read this in a book years ago and I have taken it figuratively and literally. There’s been many times I’ve chanted this over and over a few times to let me know that yes, I do trust myself and my decisions, and be content with them.

Like I said, this is not an all inclusive list as their are many more sayings that give me good thoughts or help me put another perspective in action. It’s a good way to learn how to think outside the box, especially when you’re one of those who doesn’t do that very well.

Do you have a favorite quote, saying or Bible verse that means something to you? Please feel free to share!

Love

Nanny

2 thoughts on “Words With Meaning

  1. My favorite quote I heard on the “Little house on the prairie” series by Laura Ingalls Wilder
    “Remember me with smiles and laughter for that’s how I will remember you, for if you can only remember me with tears, then don’t remember me at all”
    I included this in my mothers eulogy cause it stuck with me the first time I heard it, I remember my mother telling me before she died not to loose myself in the grief of her death but to laugh at the good times we had. That quote spoke volumes to me after she said that,,, even though some tears still fall just from missing her, I have laughed and smile at all the memories she left me with

Leave a Reply

